After all, it's just a ride….

London Film Festival 2013 Announcements

The announcements for this years London Film Festival are startling to trickle through, including the revelation of the opening night gala presentation;

…which has been accompanied by another Tom Hanks starring vehicle for the closing night gala – I’m really not so sure about this;

Hmm, I have to say I’m harbouring some reservations this year, apart from the fact I’m not sure I could negotiate the time off to attend some of the screenings the principle of paying £30 for a press pass really rankled me, as of course I don’t get paid for the reviews I craft and the prospect of paying for the privilege of writing twenty odd reviews for nothing  is faintly insulting. I don’t blame the BFI specifically,  they are trying their best to stay afloat after another brushing round of austerity cuts, but after five years of hard work I can’t help but feel a little aggrieved, and I’m not alone. There’s also the possibility of catching most of the new stuff at Tiff anyway given the avalanche of  announcements emanating from across the pond, so I’m gonna have to seriously mull this one over….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers