After all, it's just a ride….

Dracula (1992) Review

It’s weird how things turn out sometimes isn’t it? I don’t know why, but due to a unintential alignment of my online rental accounts and requests for articles in tandem with my own Menagerie programme I have been suffering a glut of vampire movies recently, from my 1931  Dracula review to a repeat viewings of Interview With The Vampire (entertaining nonsense) to a first viewing of the execrable Queen Of The Damned (two hours of my life I’m never getting back) I’ve also revisited Francis Ford Coppola’s bloodsucking saga, as part of Sound On Sight’s Keanu Reeves monthly season. You can read my review here…..

Despite some reservations I throughly enjoyed this and it looks terrific on Blu-Ray, I remember being jolly excited about this back in 1992 due to Coppola taking on a horror project, and I may have also had a little bit of a crush on petite ole Winona. It’s worth a revisit, and be sure to check out the documentary feature on the in-camera SFX that they crafted for the project, fascinating stuff which still stands up twenty years later. That’s one of the things I really liked about it, although it’s a 1992 film it doesn’t feel or look like an early Nineties movie if that makes sense, it has something of a timeless quality which I hesitate to class as ‘immortal’….

2 responses

  1. musicMagpie

    Great review, consider yourself followed! There’s a lot to like about this Dracula I feel (aside from Keanu’s dodgy acting) overall though it’s my favourite interpretation of the Dracula story despite it’s ridiculousness, would love to see it on Blu-ray as I remember it being visually stunning.

    February 19, 2013 at 2:05 PM

  2. Will Gilbert

    “I’ve seen some strange things already! Bloody wolves chasing me through some blue inferno!”

    February 21, 2013 at 12:20 PM

Leave a Reply

