After all, it's just a ride….

Toronto Film Festival 2013 – Day Six

I will wrap things up with an overall festival impressions post when I’m back in blighty, but I have to say some of the screenings here are little chaotic due to the density of numbers of my esteemed colleagues of the press, with enormous queues stretching round the block sometimes you know if you have a snowballs chance in hell of getting a seat purely by patrolling the blocks surrrounding the screening centres and assessing numbers. This is why I missed August Orange County (which honestly doesn′t sound much of an oversight) but I was determined to get Under The Skin, given the rapturous reception it has mustered from Venice and the general chatter here among the cinephiles;

It was quite remarkable, the best film David Lynch hasn′t made, and certainly one of the best films of the year, my potentially overwrought review is here. During the construction of that I had a little chat with the BBC′s Tom Brook in the press room who recognised a kindred accent, so as we′re dropping names can I revisit my facile celebrity spotting strand and add Mila Kunis, Adrien Brody, Olivia Wilde, Paul Haggis and Liam Neeson to the mix;

That was quite a dull press conference, sounds like the film isn’t much better. I then lightened the tone with some lightweight horror, with a ghoulish nightcap in the form of All Cheerleaders Die which I hoped would eclipse the tepid The Green Inferno from a genre perspective;

Alas it wasn’t great, with a particular fascination with undercranked scenes of characters walking down the High school corridors to the dulcet strains of North American rawk, and I particularly over zealous sound designer who punctuates every shock and blow with a thundering THUNK, but as a little horror piece to round off the day it kind of did the job, with a couple of laughs here and there.

Tomorrow has my toughest schedule yet, with up to four pictures on the agenda, depending on my constitution….

Leave a Reply

