After all, it's just a ride….

Singing In The Shadows?

After growing increasingly perplexed by my review of The Game  I thought I’d take a break and check out an all too rare event these days, a BBC commissioned documentary related to Hollywood. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m a red blooded hetrosexual disliker of musicals as much as the next man, but there are a few of them from the golden era which are essential viewing, and as an insight into early Hollywood holography this was insightful amusement. The fact that in a certain bona fide classic about Hollywood duplicity the Debbie Reynolds part was also shadowed as she surrogates a silent star makes me smile;

Aaah, they don’t make them like that anymore. I wonder if in twenty years filmmakers will be producing romantic inclined films about those crazy days of shooting pictures on film, rather than ocular mounted, hard drive driven vipers?

One response

  1. SITR was a 1952 release. That’s 61 years agao and it still pleases. I can only wonder and imagine what it must have felt like to come out of a theater in 1952 having just seen this film on screen.

    October 8, 2013 at 12:19 AM

Leave a Reply

