After all, it's just a ride….

RIP Nelson Mandela (1918 – 2013)

It’s not often I break the movie nonsense for world events but sometimes, y’know, you just have to pay some strange modicum of respect on  a stupid little blog. This recollection from public testimonial contributors to The Guardian has just destroyed me – ‘It was my honour to help organize Madiba’s first visit to the European Parliament in Strasbourg. I met and talked with him before he faced the politicians and I was moved to tears when he insisted in struggling to his feet (against my protests that he should save his energy) with the statement “Young man, I will always stand for anyone who has done anything for me, big or small”. I was speechless and settled for a big bear hug from the man. No photos, no ceremony, just a very personal memory of utmost dignity and humility that I will cherish to my dying day’. How can you possibly add to that;

Leave a Reply

