After all, it's just a ride….

Millennium Movie Musings

Another week, another list expertly designed as clickbait discussion fodder, guaranteed to generate the usual furious gentlemanly debate concerning inclusions and omissions. To be fair the BBC do seem to have approached some well established and coherent critics, and the results while mostly unsurprising do reflect some of the best work of the past decade and change. I can’t fault the top place and for reasons I’ll get into shortly I’m not going to be specific on how this gels with my views, but my first impression was it’s a bit safe isn’t it? All a bit like a Cannes and Sight & Sound playlist sanctioned by the serious arbiters of cinema’s contours, with nothing particularly controversial in there, like, say, a Trash Humpers, A Serbian Film, The Hottie & The Nottie or any glimpse of the Noe and Refn’s of this world, although Spring Breakers made the cut which is about as controversial as you’re likely to get. Plus I suppose Von Trier is represented twice with Melancholia and Dogville.

Mulholland Drive ∙ Cinematrip from K L I K O D I N on Vimeo.

Again, pushing my favourites aside we must beg to differ on the likes of Holy Motors, The Lives Of Others and the utterly detestable Moulin Rogue! and its arrogant, presupposing exclamation mark, quite honestly Baz Luhrmann is just about in the same league as Michael Bay or when it comes to my particular idiom for aesthetics. I’d cite plus Amour as a stronger Haneke than either The White Ribbon or Cache in my book, but I’ve done well with my viewing as the vast majority of these have been viewed, and even reviewed on this very site. The only films I haven’t seen are Tangerine, Toni Erdmann, Moolaadé and Yi Yi : A one And A Two, in fact if I’m honest I’m not so educated on Edward Yang at all much to my shame, but he isn’t exactly a filmmaker with a strong strong distribution infrastructure and I also didn’t realize he died almost ten years ago. So that’s that. It is quite amusing and prescient to see number 83 which chimes beautifully with something I’ve been working on for weeks, watch this artificial space…..

Lost in Translation // Her: An Unloved Story from Jorge Luengo Ruiz on Vimeo.

The AICN and fanboy delegates will be outraged at the lack of LOTR, Marvel or Potters no doubt, but have been placated with three Nolan’s which seems like a slight overkill. As others have pointed out apart from Maren Aden, the director of Toni Edelman I don’t think there is a single filmmaker on the list who became active post 2000, which is perhaps problematic for the longer health of the seventh art, although it is good to see so much Iranian material and as a loose approximation of region ‘Asian’ cinema in there which I think maps to the recent critical trends in world cinema. In that vein I would havce although at a push I would have expected a Koreeda or Hong Sang-soo, and no kudos to either Soderbergh or Guy Maddin?

the films of the 2000s from Paul Proulx & Jessica Sargent on Vimeo.

This list arrives at an auspicious time. We have my tenth anniversary coming up in a couple of months and I might, well, I just might do something on my top ten of the century. List posts are generally easier to construct and I guess that would tie back to the blogs life-cycle, and it could be fun to do. Plus it also gives me an excuse to go on a bit of a HD spending rampage to acquire any gaps in my collection now that I have finally rearranged and streamlined my entire media collection, and revisit some of these films on my new 55 inch KU6400 4K Ultra HD TV, supported by the UBD-K8500 4K player which has been s*domising my retinas since I had the system installed a fortnight ago, the latter equipment even upscales Blu-Rays to a near theater projection matching 3840 x 2160 definition which is just, well, my god, its full of stars…..

Leave a Reply

