After all, it's just a ride….

Blade Runner 2049 (2017) Teaser Trailer

I knew it was coming, I’ve been turning over in my mind for months how I might respond to this, and maybe it’s the fact that we’re in the romantic, nostalgia laden period of the seasonal cycle but there was one reaction which I hadn’t anticipated. I burst into tears;

Now, in my defence (and stop laughing at the back you heartless swine) I’ve just been disappointed with a revisit to a certain other SF legend today, and as regular readers might be aware Blade Runner occupies a monolithic position in my life, cinematically speaking, and thus I have been waiting to see this through rumours and numerous false starts for over thirty fucking years. I love the look of it, I really loved the soundtrack which took all the appropriate cues, although those glimpses we saw of the world didn’t seem to have significantly moved on from 2019 to 2049 eh? Now, if you’ll excuse me gentle reader, I shall spend the rest of the evening going on a carnage strewn speculation marathon – will they weave in some of other dormant themes from the Dick book, like the Mercism religious material and absence of animal life? Will Tyrell or Rachel cameo? Will they, actually scratch that, how will they tackle all those ‘he’s a replicant’ debates that have raged for decades – I mean, that’s inevitable, right? Is that desert wasteland off-world?  A lightly terraformed Mars maybe? Am I the only person who got a strong Hardware vibe from that preview? Oh Deckard’s wielding the same blaster……(swoons)……

Leave a Reply

