After all, it's just a ride….

Archive for January 31, 2010

Doug Stanhope

OK, severe warnings for immensely offensive comedy ahead – if you’re of a sensitive disposition then you may wish to go elsewhere. I’ve made my admiration of the comedian Bill Hicks clear in the past, in that context I’m mystified as to how I’ve missed the work of Doug Stanhope who is arguably his heir apparent up until now, I’d heard of the guy for sure and I vaguely recall him doing a set on some Friday night BBC show years ago but never gave his material proper consideration. It’s fantastic, but let’s start with some context setting material before I launch this blog into repugnant waters….

Not to everyone’s tastes but I like his persona and most crucially the message behind the material. I risk heading into Nathan Barley territory here – ‘hey, he’s so cool and funny ’cause he’s so edgy and nasty’ – but I know you’re smart enough to see beyond those knee jerk reactions, such as this. Here’s some more:

The above and below is material that made me embarrass myself as I laughed out loud in a Greenwich Starbucks, watching the video on my phone – yeah I know – when I killed an hour on Friday before meeting a friend for a few drinks:

and some more….

And perhaps his most jaw-dropping stuff I’ve seen thus far:

Look, I went to see Precious today, it was a fairly good movie but believe me I need to have a laugh after that experience – the darker the better – as I hope we can agree that comedy is a great exorcist. There are couple of full sets on google video – here and here – which might brighten up your Monday evening after another pointless, soul crushing waste of your irrelevant eight hours on this planet. What’s that? No, I can’t wait to get back into the work market, why do you ask???