After all, it's just a ride….

Archive for October 6, 2010

True Grit & LFF Trailers Round-Up

Not much to report at the moment so here is another lazy post, I’m slowly working through my Godfather II report in the absence of anything else to discuss although my end of year round-up extravaganza has been outlined and partially populated – it’s a work in progress of course but believe me from previous experience it helps to begin these things early. So first of all an obligatory Coen embed of the new full trailer of True Grit, then some snapshots of what I’ve got lined up for the London Film Festival once it gets going this time next week.

Looking good partner. So moving on to the LFF there are some possible treats I’ve unearthed, at least from a Minty perspective, but first of all here is a blog re-visit which will mark my first ‘official’ screening on the 14th;

The early US reviews of Let Me In have been quite a surprise, with some commentary along the lines of the film being at least the equal if not better than Let The Right One In. I like the perspective that you should look at the film not as a redundant re-make but an American version of the source novel, we shall see but I’m pleased to announce that this has now been elevated to a picture that I’m not seeing out of some misguided sense of genre duty but now out of genuine curiosity. Next up, I’m a big fan of John Sayles so the prospect of seeing a new picture of his is welcome, my first on the big screen, it looks as if he hasn’t lost his sense of political camouflage;

Then there is some Teutonic material – not sure what’s going on with this one;

Sophia Coppola’s Venice champion recently got added as a late addition to the programme and I just managed to get a seat, as previously reported I’m a fan of her work;

Penultimately I could not let the chance of seeing Sion Sono’s new splatter fest pass me by;

I’m taking a day off work in the last week of the Festival to catch that with a double bill of the documentary Inside Job later in the evening to round things off,  sometimes you can’t beat a good documentary (hopefully) as a final antidote to all the fiction.

I got a ticket for a potential Michelle Williams Q&A and then she went and cancelled her appearance – it’s also cool to break the films up with the occasionally intermittent real world interaction – but this disappointment did prompt me to get a ticket for the Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu interview which was previously sold out – weird. All the above are films and events I’ve paid for, there will hopefully be more to add as more press screenings get announced when the festivities begin in earnest, my calendar was simply too demanding to slack off and see some of the material that was shown to the media freeloaders this week. I’d really like to see The Black Swan if possible – all four screenings and the Aronofsky event sold out  in minutes – and I admit that I’m also newly intrigued by Never Let Me Go, Catfish and Submarine but we’ll see how things roll.Finally The Social Network opens in the midst of this clamour which I will definitely be seeing on opening night, I think it’s fair to say that the rest of this month shall be hectic. Can’t wait.