After all, it's just a ride….

Blue Zombies, or Plague Of The Velvets? (1966)

Whilst lots of film fans have spent the weekend drooling over this, I have been slightly more excited about the excavation of this, almost an hour of footage from Blue Velvet which is NSFW so be warned. I was intending to post it here but the youtube killjoys have put it behind some bloody sign-in nonsense now, so instead here is a trailer for Plague Of The Zombies;

Actually, I wasn’t that excited, I’m not a big fan of deleted scenes per se, they can be instructive in the sense of what was omitted from the final print which can throw light on certain creative and technical decisions, but for the most part they are pretty boring and not exactly what one immediately alights upon when they get a new batch of DVD’s or Blu-Rays back to the ranch. This is slightly different as it’s Blue Velvet of course, although you can see why they were cut (they don’t particularly drive the plot forward) but it’s Lynch and they are fascinating nonetheless. In other news I am happy to see that Cosmopolis opens at the weekend, I didn’t manage to see anything over the past few days as there is not much out at the moment, although there is a rather unexpected screening of Plague Of The Zombies in a new print at my local cinema tomorrow night – see, there is a method to my madness. Quite why this is being screened is beyond me, but as a local horror fan I’m almost contractually obliged to go and see it, it might make up for the enormously frustrating few hours it has taken me to get a The Dark Knight Rises IMAX ticket through the BFI’s pathetic booking system, but we got there in the end for an opening day viewing….

Leave a comment